Socrates Cafe

Standard

Hello everyone,

It has been awhile since I posted to my blog but life comes at you fast sometimes.  I thought I would do something a little more interactive with my followers and start a Socrates Cafe discussion.  If you do not know what a Socrates Cafe is I will explain.  This supposed to be an exchange of opinions and questions to pursue wisdom and knowledge from people of other backgrounds.  They way it works is I will ask a question and then someone will answer it.  The person that answered my question then must come up with follow-up question.  The question should relate to the original in some way but if it does not no big deal.  This is not intended to be an argument and politics will not be allowed on my posts or anywhere on this blog.  I am not trying to start a debate, but I am trying to have some fun and maybe learn something too.  I will start the cafe with a question.

What is a hero in today’s era?

 

11 thoughts on “Socrates Cafe

  1. rob

    Hero in this era is tough to define. To kids it might be someone in a costume that has powers. To older kids its the athlete or supermodel that has money and lives a rich life. In truth a hero is a parent who raises their kids, teaches them right from wrong. A person who strongly believes in his ideals and does not reverse them selves just to get along. Why do real heroes go unrecognized?

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Hello, and I am very happy to see you starting a Socrates Cafe online–I am not sure anyone else has ever done that. And I really enjoy the question you posed. So, I am not able to speak for anyone else, but I would like to distinguish between a real or fictional hero. To me, the main component of a hero is someone who acts in a selfless way to help another person. Certainly, that opens it up to many possibilities. So I ask, does a person’s actions have to be successful for that person to be a hero?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MaryAnn

    It depends on what you mean by recognized. If you mean by the child, this comes in time it is not always appreciated until they grow and start to realize what other children missed out on from true parenting. Which is being there to listen, guide and love rather than supply material things with no substance. If you mean by those outside of the child, it may be that there is silent recognition by emulation, or just by them saying you have a great kid. How do we help others see their true hero potential?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You cannot find a better example of what a hero is that to take a look at Malala Yousafzai. She has and will continue to change countless lives now and in the future. That is a hero.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Today “hero” has become the cheapest of all words in the English language. It is invoked carelessly: usually to refer to someone whom one likes or whose lifestyle helps to market a product or ideal (and often a self-serving one at that).

    But a true hero is one who sacrifices everything in order to make the world a better place for others: never for themselves. These are people who endure the deepest of privations in order to create a future that is more just, more equitable, or more fulfilling for people whom they may never meet.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Answering Maryann’s question: I think we teach people about their “hero potential” by modeling virtues. Modeling isn’t just for kids; we need to be the “peer group” for the people in our lives. If we think being a hero is about self-sacrifice, then we model that behavior. If we think that a hero is someone who ameliorates bad situations, then we get involved instead of walking away, or filming with our phones, or writing about it for our blogs. 🙂

    Why is it that words like “hero” and “tragedy” and “scandalous” have become so watered down?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well that question is opinion based so here is my take: The word hero is abused in today’s screwed up world, and messed up America. Kids think professional sports athletes are hero’s. That’s ok it’s what kids do.

    A real hero is someone who puts themselves at risk for the sake of another. It is also millions of single working dads (yes Dads) and moms struggling to survive and raise a family. It is the police, fireman, EMT’s and our military men women who sacrifice so much and ask for so little, and usually get so little in return.

    Sometimes hero’s can also be great role models. Unlike the abused role model words of today’s America where we slap that label onto the worst possible examples such as entertainers who shake their booty on stage while playing with themselves or worse in front of thousands dumb enough to pay for it. Or an actor or actress who gets themselves into trouble with the law. Or a politician whom spends the entire life achieving their dream simply to lose it all over a few moments of pleasure. They are not role models or hero’s.

    The best role models are hard working responsible tax paying adults. You know the ones that make the world go round.

    Even though I never knew my father he would have been my hero and my role model. I was raised by my mother who unknown to the world was among the first women to help build the worlds first computerized radar systems for aircraft during WW II. My father served in the Navy in the Pacific during WW II.

    My mother is my hero.

    So there you go. That is my take. My opinions are my own and do not reflect that of other person’s or organizations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

